1. K-State home
  2. »Research and Extension
  3. »Ellis
  4. »About
  5. »Extension Council

Ellis County

Ellis County Extension Council

The County Extension Council Law of 1951 gives county residents the right to elect an extension council to plan educational programs in agriculture, home economics, 4-H and youth, and economic development. All citizens of voting age are eligible to vote in the elections. Extension Council members keep elected officials, particularly county commissioners and legislators, informed of local educational needs as well as the benefits local extension programs provide. 

The County Extension Council is composed of 24 members organized into four Program Development Committees (PDCs): Agriculture, Family & Consumer Sciences, 4-H Youth Development, and Economic/Community Development. The PDC identifies educational needs, develops extension programs, and assists with program evaluation. The PDCs work cooperatively to provide a unified county extension program. At the annual meeting, the Extension Council elects from its own members nine people to serve on the Executive Board.

The Executive Board consists of a chair, vice chair, secretary, treasurer, and five other members. At least one member from each Program Development Committee is represented on the board. The Executive Board meets monthly and has the responsibility of conducting all Extension Council business. It appoints and supervises agents and approves program development plans of the Program Development Committees.

2017 Ellis County Extension Council Members

Resources for Board Members